AFN - Afghan Afghani (؋)
LKR - Sri Lankan Rupee (රු.)

Currency conversion rates from AFN to LKR

10 AFN10 LKR
20 AFN20 LKR
50 AFN50 LKR
100 AFN100 LKR
250 AFN250 LKR
500 AFN500 LKR
1000 AFN1000 LKR
2000 AFN2000 LKR
5000 AFN5000 LKR
10000 AFN10000 LKR
10 LKR10 AFN
20 LKR20 AFN
50 LKR50 AFN
100 LKR100 AFN
250 LKR250 AFN
500 LKR500 AFN
1000 LKR1000 AFN
2000 LKR2000 AFN
5000 LKR5000 AFN
10000 LKR10000 AFN

AFN - Afghan Afghani (؋)

Afghan Afghani

The Afghan Afghani (AFN) was introduced in 2003 as the new currency for Afghanistan. Two distinct rates were established: the government issue of 1000 and the northern alliance of 2000. Prior to 2003 the currency was the Afghanistan Afghani (AFA). There is no stock market. Money lending as well as foreign exchange is done through money bazaars.

The Afghan Afghani is the currency in Afghanistan (AF, AFG). The symbol for AFN can be written Af. The Afghan Afghani is divided into 100 puls. The exchange rate for the Afghan Afghani was last updated on May 24, 2019 from Yahoo Finance. The AFN conversion factor has 3 significant digits.


  • Afghanistan relies on foreign aid, trade, and farming from bordering countries.
  • The country and international concerns are focusing on improving infrastructure by creating jobs, promoting development of housing, and investing in education.
  • International groups contributed over $2 billion to help Afghanistan’s dying economy.
  • Afghanistan's agricultural products include wheat, wool, nuts, mutton, opium, lamb skin, and sheep skin.
  • Afghanistan exports mainly nuts, fruit, carpets, and cotton.
  • Imports include textiles, petroleum products, and capital goods.


  • The first Afghani (AFA) was introduced in 1925. Before this time period the Afghan Rupee was the official currency.
  • From the year 1925 to the year 1928 Afghani treasury notes were introduced.
  • In 1975, all Afghanistan banks were nationalized.
  • In 1981, the Afghani was pegged to the United States Dollar at 1 USD = 50 Afghanis.
  • Afghanistan was taken over by Taliban rulers in 1996. The Taliban central bank declared the Afghanistan Afghani worthless and the bank cancelled the contract they had with Russia for printing their money. The country's currency was devalued against the US dollar to a rate of 1 USD = 43 Afghani.
  • In 2002, the new Afghan Afghani currency (AFN) was introduced. In October, 2003 Afghanistan started using AFN as the official currency in local trade.
  • In 2005, Afghani coins replaced the 1, 2, and 5 Afghani banknotes.
  • Since 2005 the Afghanistan economy has grown at a steady pace.

More information about AFN - Afghan Afghani (؋)

LKR - Sri Lankan Rupee (Sr)

The Sri Lankan rupee is the currency of Sri Lanka. It is symbolised by ‘Rs’, රු in Sinhalese, and ரூ in Tamil. The currency code is LKR. The Sri Lankan rupee has 6 significant conversion factor digits. It is considered fiat money. The most popular rupee exchange is with the US dollar.

The Sri Lanka Rupee is the unit of currency used in Sri Lanka, symbolized by Rs., or SLRs to distinguish it from other Rupees. The Rupee is sub-divided into 100 cents.

The Sri Lankan Rupee is the currency in Sri Lanka (LK, LKA). The symbol for LKR can be written Rs, , SLRs, and SL. The Sri Lankan Rupee is divided into 100 cents. The exchange rate for the Sri Lankan Rupee was last updated on January 31, 2019 from The International Monetary Fund. The LKR conversion factor has 6 significant digits.


  • According to the International Monetary Fund, Sri Lanka’s GDP was estimated at US$50 billion in 2010 (US$106.5 billion in terms of purchasing power parity). The Sri Lanka GDP experienced growth of 8.2% in 2010 and is estimated to grow by 9.5% in 2011, making it one of the fastest growing economies in the world.
  • Sri Lanka is next only to the Maldives in the South Asia region in terms of income per capita, with a nominal value of US$2,435.
  • Colombo Stock Exchange was the best performing stock market in Asia in 2009 and 2010, nearly three times its value during that time.


  • The British Pound became Ceylon's official currency in 1825, replacing the rixdollar Ceylon, at a rate of 1 Pound = 13 ⅓ Rixdollars, and British silver coins became legal tender.
  • The Indian Rupee was made Ceylon's standard coin 26 September 1836 as Ceylon retuned to the Indian currency area, though pound-denominated Treasury bonds continued to circulate from 1836, with the Rupee.
  • The Bank of Ceylon commenced issuing banknotes in Sri Lanka in 1844, replacing the existing Treasury notes in 1856.
  • The Rupee was established as unlimited legal tender for Ceylon in 1869, and became the sole legal tender for Ceylon in 1872.
  • Ceylon gained independence in 1948, and introduced the new Central Bank of Ceylon in 1950.
  • In 1972, Ceylon was renamed Sri Lanka, and the rupee took on the Sri Lanka rupee nomenclature.
  • Several series of banknotes have been released in the past 100 years, with the most recent in 2011. On February 4, 2011, the Central Bank of Sri Lanka (CBSL) issued 11th series of Sri Lanka rupee notes, consisting of six denominations.

More information about LKR - Sri Lankan Rupee (Sr)