INR - Indian Rupee ()

The Indian rupee is the currency of India. The rupee’s currency code is INR, and its symbol is ₹. This symbol has origins in the Indian flag, and incorporates the flag’s horizontal stripes. Foreigners are not generally allowed to take INR in or out of India, so currency exchange must occur within the country.

The Indian Rupee is the official currency of the Republic of India, and is issued by the Reserve Bank of India. The Rupee is subdivided into 100 paise, although only a 50 paise coin is now issued as legal tender. The symbol for the Indian Rupee was officially adopted in 2010 after a design competition, and derives from the Devanagari letter “Ra.” The reverse side of Rupee banknotes show amounts in 15 of India’s 22 official languages (the obverse side shows English and Hindi). Neighboring countries Nepal and Bhutan peg their currencies to the Rupee, and accept it as legal ender.

The Indian Rupee is the currency in India (IN, IND). The symbol for INR can be written Rs, and IRs. The Indian Rupee is divided into 100 paise. The exchange rate for the Indian Rupee was last updated on Today from The International Monetary Fund. The INR conversion factor has 6 significant digits. Large amounts of Rupees are expressed in lakh rupees or crore rupees. A Lakh Rupee is one hundred thousand rupees and a crore rupee is ten million rupees.


  • By market exchange rates, the Indian economy is worth US$1.8 trillion (2011), around the tenth largest in the world. By purchasing power parity (PPP), the economy is estimated at US$4.06 trillion, the fourth largest.
  • India is one of the fastest growing economies in the world. However, its Gross Domestic Product (GDP) per capita is still low.
  • Slightly more than half of the work force is in agriculture, but the agricultural sector only contributes 17% to GDP. Services are the major source of economic growth and account for more than half of India's output using a third of its workforce. India is a major exporter of information technology services and software workers.
  • Prior to 1991, Indian governments adhered to protectionist policies, isolating the economy from the outside world. Since 1991, the country has moved towards a free market system, emphasizing both foreign trade and direct investment.


  • Peoples living in modern-day India were some of the first to use coins (around the sixth century BC).
  • Sher Shah Suri (1486-1545) is believed to have issued the first Rupee, based on a ratio of 40 copper pieces (paisa) per Rupee.
  • After India’s independence in 1947, the Rupee replaced all the currencies of previously autonomous states.
  • In 1957, the Rupee was divided into 100 naye paise (Hindi for "new country").
  • The Rupee was fixed to the British Pound from 1927–1946 and then to the US Dollar until 1975. It was devalued in 1975 but still fixed to a basket of four major currencies.
  • The Rupee is steadily appreciating against the US Dollar. In 2009, the rising Rupee prompted the Indian government to purchase 200 tons of gold from the IMF, for $6.7 billion.

More information about INR - Indian Rupee ()

Convert Indian Rupee to other currencies

Convert INR to other currencies

Convert to other currencies

Convert all Currencies to Indian Rupee

Convert all Currencies to INR

Convert all Currencies to