LKR - Sri Lankan Rupee (Sr)

The Sri Lankan rupee is the currency of Sri Lanka. It is symbolised by ‘Rs’, රු in Sinhalese, and ரூ in Tamil. The currency code is LKR. The Sri Lankan rupee has 6 significant conversion factor digits. It is considered fiat money. The most popular rupee exchange is with the US dollar.

The Sri Lanka Rupee is the unit of currency used in Sri Lanka, symbolized by Rs., or SLRs to distinguish it from other Rupees. The Rupee is sub-divided into 100 cents.

The Sri Lankan Rupee is the currency in Sri Lanka (LK, LKA). The symbol for LKR can be written Rs, , SLRs, and SL. The Sri Lankan Rupee is divided into 100 cents. The exchange rate for the Sri Lankan Rupee was last updated on January 31, 2019 from The International Monetary Fund. The LKR conversion factor has 6 significant digits.


  • According to the International Monetary Fund, Sri Lanka’s GDP was estimated at US$50 billion in 2010 (US$106.5 billion in terms of purchasing power parity). The Sri Lanka GDP experienced growth of 8.2% in 2010 and is estimated to grow by 9.5% in 2011, making it one of the fastest growing economies in the world.
  • Sri Lanka is next only to the Maldives in the South Asia region in terms of income per capita, with a nominal value of US$2,435.
  • Colombo Stock Exchange was the best performing stock market in Asia in 2009 and 2010, nearly three times its value during that time.


  • The British Pound became Ceylon's official currency in 1825, replacing the rixdollar Ceylon, at a rate of 1 Pound = 13 ⅓ Rixdollars, and British silver coins became legal tender.
  • The Indian Rupee was made Ceylon's standard coin 26 September 1836 as Ceylon retuned to the Indian currency area, though pound-denominated Treasury bonds continued to circulate from 1836, with the Rupee.
  • The Bank of Ceylon commenced issuing banknotes in Sri Lanka in 1844, replacing the existing Treasury notes in 1856.
  • The Rupee was established as unlimited legal tender for Ceylon in 1869, and became the sole legal tender for Ceylon in 1872.
  • Ceylon gained independence in 1948, and introduced the new Central Bank of Ceylon in 1950.
  • In 1972, Ceylon was renamed Sri Lanka, and the rupee took on the Sri Lanka rupee nomenclature.
  • Several series of banknotes have been released in the past 100 years, with the most recent in 2011. On February 4, 2011, the Central Bank of Sri Lanka (CBSL) issued 11th series of Sri Lanka rupee notes, consisting of six denominations.

More information about LKR - Sri Lankan Rupee (Sr)

Convert Sri Lankan Rupee to other currencies

Convert LKR to other currencies

Convert Sr to other currencies

Convert all Currencies to Sri Lankan Rupee

Convert all Currencies to LKR

Convert all Currencies to Sr